Let’s Talk About Self-Care

Self-Care is in, baby!

Let’s talk about taking care of your #1!

Hint: That is you, if you weren’t aware.

Do you ever forget to check in with yourself? I know that I do. It is easy to forget about how you are feeling when you are trying to keep up with the responsibilities in your life. However, after a long stretch of forgetting, you suddenly get hit by a wall. Bam! “Why am I feeling so lousy?”, you may ask yourself. Well, its because you just neglected yourself for a month, love.

Self-care is not selfish. It is a necessity. If you do not take care of yourself, you cannot give all that you need to give to your life. Being your most productive at work? Nope. Eating and exercising your best? Nope. Having quality time and conversation with your significant other? Nope. Nope. Nope.

So, what exactly is self-care? Self-care is not a new phenomenon. Actually, it originated with the Ancient GreeksSelf-care is any activity that we do deliberately in order to take care of our mental, emotional, and physical health. It brings awareness to ourselves. It brings us joy and revitalization, not added stress.

What is my self-care story? I am new to this ball game. Six months ago, I felt myself getting to a very low point. I was moody and always angry (despite having a pretty good work-life balance). Something needed to give. That something was having “me” time. I knew I was not giving myself enough attention. I was trying to be Wonder Woman and do it all.

First, I sat down with my husband and we had a talk about household duties. My husband is very happy to help around the house. However, he needs specific tasks to set him on track. Also, unlike me, he cannot look at a room and see everything that needs to be done. Rather than me telling him what to do, I would just go ahead do it myself. I know, bad bad bad! Talking about the breakdown of chores has helped tremendously! I love looking at the mountain of dishes and thinking “I don’t have to clean those!” :p Marriages need to be 50/50. Do not wear yourself out. Your significant other is completely capable of helping and should do his/her fair share. They live in the house, and contribute to the dirty floors, dishes, laundry, etc. They need to contribute to the cleaning of those things as well.

As for my actual self-care routine, I have two practices. First, I do some kind of physical activity each day. Sometimes it is a hard workout at the gym, other times it is a quick yoga session at home. Second, once a week, I get a nice hot bath and read. It sounds silly, but I look forward to my weekly routine of putting on a face mask and soaking.

I cannot tell you what you need to do exactly for your self-care routine. It is all about you. A starter questions is “What brings you peace and joy?”.

Don’t know where to start? Check out the links below for inspiration.

List of simple practices

Suggested TED Talks

Orange Flower With Butterfly

Leave a Reply

