A Guide To A Quick Trip To Cuyahoga Valley National Park

I have lived in Western PA all of my life. However, I had no idea that there was a national park in Ohio only two hours away from me!! My husband and I planned a May weekday trip to Cedar Point in Sandusky, Ohio. Giving us a great reason to visit Cuyahoga Valley National Park as it is right on the way from the Pittsburgh area. We spent a day exploring the park.

Our first stop was the Cuyahoga Valley Scenic Railroad. We did the 3-hour round trip route, and bought the premium upper dome tickets. It had great reviews. However, I was bored on it. We did go through some marshes, where I saw a Bald Eagle on its nest. That was the highlight though. It went through several towns at the end, making it not so scenic. It would probably be beautiful during peak fall foliage. They have special events, so that might liven up it as well. However, you can easily skip it and not feel like you missed out.

Next, we took a quick walk to Brandywine Falls. There is a boardwalk that takes you to the falls, so you don’t have to worry about needing hiking shoes.

The trip to the second hike, Bridal Veil Falls, was also a very short one. It is only a half mile from the parking lot across the road. It was so peaceful here! We were the only one enjoying it at the time. The water is very shallow, so you can stand in the water and cool off. However, it can be slippery so be careful!

The 2.2 mile loop of the Ledges was my favorite! You walked among huge rocks that made you feel so tiny. Isn’t that the best part about exploring? Feeling tiny in our world. It was an easy and shady (good for those hot days!) hike. I love loop hikes because you see new things throughout the hike. Oh, and we saw an owl! My husband was so excited. 🙂 This is a must for when you visit!


If we had another few days, I would have loved to have biked the Ohio and Erie Canal Towpath Trail. It is 85 miles long, and looks like it has beautiful sites. If you do it, let me know your experience!

Lastly, let’s talk about food options. We have a delicious breakfast at Yours Truly‘s Rockside location. For lunch or dinner, eat at Melt Bar and Grill in Independence. Oh my God… I died and went to cheese heaven. It was phenomenal! Yum!! Also, they have vegetarian, vegan, and gluten-free bread options available. 🙂

The Might Macaroni From Melt Bar and Grill
Leave a Reply

